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Looking Ahead 
 

Yes..I know.  We have only a few weeks in the 
scorebook and I am talking about ‘next year’.  
However, something I mentioned LAST year in 
a TWIB regarding next year’s schedule is a 
reminder again to ‘look ahead’ before making 
arrangements for travel, etc.  Look at the 
following dates: 
Season Start Date (2013):  March 30, 2013 
Easter:  March 31, 2013 
 
What does this mean?  A growing trend is for 
schools to ‘head south’ for spring break and 
play games in non-bordering states; South 
Carolina, Florida, and Georgia for example.  
With the Season Start date moving later next 
year (it was March 24 THIS year), it may affect 
your Spring Break travel plans with your team.  
Why…might you ask?  But with the first game 
permitted on MARCH 31 of next year, this 
could have serious ramifications on ‘spring 
break’ baseball. 
First, teams are not permitted to travel out of 
state just to practice or just scrimmage.  And, 
one of the more important regulations to 
consider is this:  General Sports Regulation 
21.5; A scrimmage must be considered the 
same for all schools involved.  What does this 
mean?  It means that YOUR school cannot 
‘call’ it a scrimmage on YOUR schedule while 
it is a ‘game’ on the other teams schedule.  
Check this out carefully when playing out of 
state schools as their contest limitations are 
most likely different than Ohio’s.  A few “Q and 
A’s” to help you: 
 
Q:  If I take my chances, is there a chance the 
OHSAA will change the start date for games? 
A:  No.  These start dates are set and there is no 
plan to change these dates. 
 
Q:  If we schedule and play a game on 3/30/13 
(the first day for contests) and practice all week 
while on ‘the trip’, is that ‘ok’? 
A:  Yes, as long as that contest is a GAME.  
The  regulation says that you must play a 
contest while in a non-bordering state. 
 
A reminder; this regulation applies to travel out 
of state to NON-BORDERING states. 

Odds & Ends 
“Play Lists” 
You thought only football quarterbacks and linebackers used play lists on the 
wrist (or elsewhere)?  Guess again, as many teams wear them in the field with 
their defensive plays.  Some of these, just as you see in the NFL have a flap 
covering them, some do not. Most are worn on the wrist/forearm or on the belt.  
They are legal.  Pitchers can also wear one…but it must be on the non-
throwing arm and cannot be white or gray. 
 
Sunglasses 
It comes up every year. Just remember..we live in Ohio and we should be 
thankful when the sun is out.  Remembering that will remind you that there are 
no rules/regulations concerning sunglasses. They can be worn on the bill of the 
cap and pitchers can wear them.  Keep in mind that the umpire can always rule 
something as ‘distracting to a batter’ but should only occur if the pitcher is 
wearing reflective (silver coated) sunglasses. 
 
Face Painting 
Seriously? Yes…it actually has come up.  My editorial comment first….. 
Coaches, please don’t let your players do this.  Please.  Respect the Game is 
more than just a slogan.  So I hesitate to even go further with this…BUT…there 
is no rule prohibiting ‘eye black’ or face painting. IF a pitcher has it on…it still 
must be considered not distracting by the umpire to be legal. And, it must meet 
all requirements of Rule 3-3-1 which references it cannot be used to intimidate, 
be unsporting, be profane, or intend to embarrass, ridicule or demean others. 
 
College “Workouts” 
Each season, it seems to grow; ‘workouts’ or ‘tryouts’ at the collegiate level for 
high school players.  It falls under “non-interscholastic participation” and is not 
permitted during the season of play.  I generally hear about it at the NAIA 
level but have had a few reports of athletes being contacted by Division II 
schools to come to their campus and workout for them.  These are not permitted.  
I have contacted the NAIA (and may choose to do the same now with NCAA) 
asking them to put out a release to their member schools informing them Ohio 
and many other states do not permit this. 
 
Scrimmages… 
Probably unlikely this year that you did not use all your allotted scrimmages (4), 
but in the event you did NOT use them all, you are permitted to use them any 
time during the season of play, including during tournament time.  Just 
remember that a scrimmage for YOUR team must also be a scrimmage for the 
OTHER team as well 

     “Play of the Day” 
          This year, I am including a page of “plays of the day” as 
          compiled by Kyle McNeely, the OHSAA’s “Director of  
         Development for Umpires.  The former chair of the NFHS  
Baseball Rules Committee,  is responsible for overseeing the pre-season 
and continuing education for baseball umpires across the state.  One 
aspect of this continuing education is providing “Plays of the Day” to 
associations across the state.  This week’s are on page 2 of this week’s 
TWIB and a link to a complete compilation is also included. 

Spring breaks are over for most schools and league races begin.  I have included several ‘odds and ends’ for early season.  Since most 
schools ‘re-up’ their non-league contracts soon after playing a game THIS season, I have an important column on the left regarding the 
      2013 season and how start dates and Easter may affect your scheduling. 

Jerry Snodgrass, Ass’t. Commissioner 

This Week in Baseball 
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The following is a listing of the most recent “Plays of the Day” and the subsequent correct rulings that would be made as a result.  Most are taken 
from actual cases that have occurred around the nation.  Kyle McNeely is the OHSAA’s Director of Development for baseball umpires and is 
responsible for the education of umpires as well as recruiting new umpires.  Kyle is the former chair of the NFHS Baseball Rules Committee. 
 
Number One: 
The Play:  With no outs and runners on first and second base, a batter hits a line drive to the shortstop which bounces off his glove and hits the runner 
who has a lead off second base. The ball then bounces directly back to the shortstop without hitting the ground. The shortstop gloves the ball and 
throws to the second baseman, who tags second and fires to first before the runner off first can get back to the base, and before the batter reaches first. 
The defense begins to celebrate its first ever triple play. The coach of the offense looks cross-eyed at the base umpire and asks, "What just happened?" 
What does the umpire tell him? 
The offensive coach truly thought that when the batted ball, deflected off the shortstop's glove hit his runner, the ball was dead and his runner was out. 
he couldn't believe that the umpires kept the ball live and in play. The defensive coach was celebrating what he thought was his team's first triple play. 
 
The Ruling: In all reality, neither coach is right. When a ball comes off an infielder and hits an offensive runner it stays live and in play (unless the 
runner intentionally hit the ball). But, when it bounced off the runner and back to the shortstop, it can not be secured as a catch. The rules state that "It 
is not a catch when a fielder touches a batted ball in flight which then contacts a member of the offensive team or an umpire and is then caught by a 
defensive player." So, the shortstop did not make a legal catch. The ball is treated now just like a ground ball. The defense turned a double play, but 
not a triple play. The runner from first and the batter runner are out! 
 
Number Two: 
The Play:  With two outs and runners on second and first in a tie game, the home team batter rips a double that is miss-played into a triple.  The 
runner from second base crosses but does not touch home plate.  The runner from first then touches the plate, scoring another run.  The catcher, 
noticing (mainly because the on-deck batter kept yelling to the runner from second to touch home) the miss of home plate, properly appeals to the 
home plate umpire that the runner from second missed touching home.  The plate umpire, very happy with himself, does indeed call that runner out, 
and announces to the official scorekeeper that only one counted, as the second run scored because it was a "timing" play.  Everyone nodded their 
heads in agreement, with the coaches making a mental note to tell the assignor what a good crew they had that day.  The home team goes on and 
eventually wins by that one run margin.  So…how did the umpires REALLY do on this? 
 
The Ruling: Indeed, had the defense not appealed at all, both runs would have scored.  But when they successfully appealed that the runner from 
second missed home, actually neither run can count. 
By rule, no run can score if the third out is made by a preceding runner who is out upon appeal because he failed to touch a base or left a base too soon 
on a caught fly ball.  The game remains tied. 
 
Also, in this case as well, once the runner from first touched home, the runner from second no longer has the ability to return and touch home plate.  
Even if he does so, upon a proper appeal, he will be called out. 
That will get the rule experts in the stands going. 
 
Number Three: 
This play is a scoring play that has the possibility of involving an appeal, which could change the score. 
The Play: With the bases loaded, the batter hits a looping fly ball that everyone thinks will drop for a base hit. All the runners are off and running and 
never retouch their respective base. But, the right fielder makes a "Baseball Tonight" spectacular catch. He comes firing the ball to second base for out 
number two on the runner from second who did not tag up. The second baseman then completes the triple play when he throws the ball to first for the 
third out on that runner who also had failed to tag up. The runner from third scored before the out at first was recorded.  So, the discussion was on how 
many runs were counted? The offense thought one; the defense thought none since, well it was a triple play. 
 
The Ruling:  Even though the runner from third did not retouch third base, his run will count if the defense does not properly appeal his base running 
mistake. If they do not appeal, the play is a time play, with his run counting since he touched home before the third out at first occurred. 
However, if the defense appeals before the pitcher and all infielders have left fair territory, then it would be considered a fourth out and would take 
precedence over the third out at first base, thus negating the run. In other words, even though we have three outs, the defense may still properly appeal 
the infraction and have the run not count. If they fail to do so, count it for the offense.  But, the fourth out does not carry over to the next inning, as the 
defensive coach tried to argue. 

This Week in Baseball 

Plays of the Day – from DOD Kyle McNeely 
 

A complete compilation of ALL “Plays of the Day” can be found by going to:  
http://www.ohsaa.org/sports/bb/boys/2012/TWIB2012POD.pdf 
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