The Ohio High School Athletic Association

2010 OHSAA Boys State Basketball Recaps

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us  

2010 OHSAA Boys Basketball State Championship Recaps

Division I State Championship Recap
Saturday, March 27 - 8:30 p.m.
Box Score

Massillon Jackson Wins First State Title School History
Polar Bears outrun Moeller with 57-34 victory

COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 13 Massillon Jackson used a 16-0 run to open the second half to distance itself from No. 9 Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller and gain a 57-34 victory to take home the 2010 OHSAA Boys Div. I State Championship. It marks the first state basketball title for Jackson and the school’s first team title in any sport.

Up five at half, the Polar Bears (25-2) outscored the Crusaders 24-5 in the third quarter to pull away. Jackson held Archbishop Moeller to 25 percent shooting from the floor and a season-low 34 points. On the other end of the floor, Jackson was nearly flawless in the second half, shooting just under 70 percent.

The Polar Bears were led by first-team All-Ohio senior Mark Henniger’s 21 points and 12 rebounds. Junior Michael Shull pitched in 17 points, while senior Brad DuPont scored 11 and dished out five assists.

Senior Griffin McKenzie led Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller scorers with nine points, while also grabbing five rebounds. Going for their fourth state title, the Crusaders finish the season at 22-5.

### OHSAA ###

Division II State Championship Recap
Saturday, March 27 - 2:00 p.m.
Box Score

Dunbar Grabs Third State Title in Five Years
Wolverines outrun Port Clinton in second half

COLUMBUS, Ohio – No. 2 Dayton Dunbar captured its third state championship in five years and fourth overall after defeating No. 4 Port Clinton 64-50 in the OHSAA Boys Div. II state championship game Saturday at the Jerome Schottenstein Center in Columbus.

Down 27-26 at halftime, Dunbar turned up the defensive pressure in the second half, scoring 18 points off 15 Port Clinton turnovers after the break. The Wolverines forced the issue throughout the game, scoring 16 fast-break points.

The Wolverines were balanced offensively, getting scoring contributions from nine different players. Three players were in double-figures for Dunbar , including first-team All-Ohio senior Geron Johnson, who scored 24 points, dished out seven assists and had four steals. Senior Ryan Bass poured in 13, while fellow senior Deon Stewart scored 10.

Dunbar (25-3) adds the 2010 trophy to its collection of state basketball championships from 1987, 2006 and 2007.

Port Clinton , advancing past the district tournament for the first time since 1943, was making its first state tournament appearance and finishes the season at 26-1. The Redskins were led with 15 points each from junior Derek Colston and first team All-Ohio senior Ryan Hicks.

### OHSAA ###

Division III State Championship Recap
Saturday, March 27 - 10:45 a.m.
Box Score

Lima Central Catholic Takes First State Title in 60-57 Victory
After 32 years, Coach Bob Seggerson announces his retirement

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Lima Central Catholic and head coach Bob Seggerson are taking home the 2010 OHSAA boys basketball Division III championship trophy after defeating Orrville 60-57 Saturday afternoon at the Jerome Schottenstein Center in Columbus . During the post-game press conference Seggerson, who has over 500 career wins,  announced that the Division III state championship game would be his last, retiring after 32 years at Lima Central Catholic.

The Thunderbirds, who had been unranked for all of the 2010 season, had two runner-up finishes at the state tournament and all five of their previous losses in the state semifinals or finals had come by two points or less.

Balanced scoring helped the Thunderbirds as they had eight players score, including three in double figures for the game. Junior Austin Stolly was the leading scorer with 16 points, followed by senior Desi Kirkman and sophomore Ty O’Conner, who had 15 and 12 respectively.

Orrville, which was also unranked to close out the 2010 season, trimmed a 12 point LCC lead down to just one with a minute left in the game, but couldn’t finish off the comeback, as LCC never relinquished the lead.

The Red Riders were led by seniors Joey Bescanson and All-Ohio selection Jacob Bolyard, who each scored 14 points. Senior Samuel Miller grabbed 12 boards for Orrville.

### OHSAA ### 

Division IV State Championship Recap
Saturday, March 27 - 5:15 p.m.
Box Score

Dayton Jefferson Township Earns Third State Title
Broncos hold off Newark Catholic 59-52

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Dayton Jefferson Township won its first OHSAA Division IV state title since 1998 with a 59-52 victory over Newark Catholic Saturday evening at the Jerome Schottenstein Center in Columbus. The seventh-ranked Broncos finish the season 17-10 and earn their third state title in their seventh appearance.

Jefferson fought off a spirited and energetic Newark Catholic team that erased a four point deficit at the half. The Green Wave led by as many as six in the second half, but couldn’t hold the lead as Jefferson scored 18 points in the fourth quarter compared to 10 for the Green Wave.

Junior Cody Latimer was nearly perfect from the field, shooting 10-for-11, missing only his last shot of the game. He finished with a game-high 24 points and 12 rebounds. Junior Joby Jackson and All-Ohio senior Adreian Payne each added 11 points. The Broncos dominated inside, scoring a total of 26 points in the paint.

Top-ranked Newark Catholic and Division IV Coach of the Year Drew Meister finish the season 25-2. All-Ohio senior Matt Dawson had 20 points, hitting four three-pointers to go along with four assists. Senior James Moerman picked up 10 points in the losing effort.

### OHSAA ###