The Ohio High School Athletic Association



2011 OHSAA State Baseball Tournament Coverage

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us    

Baseball Homepage

2011 OHSAA State Baseball
Tournament Coverage


Statewide Baseball Tournament Brackets
      A Guide for Using & Navigating OHSAA Brackets

OHSAA Radio Network

Listen to all twelve state tournament games on the OHSAA Radio Network. Click here to listen live.


Statewide Radio Coverage Map
See what radio stations around the state are carrying tournament games. Click here to view.



Follow all the action from the state baseball tournament on Twitter. Click here to follow.


State Tournament Preview


OHSAA Spring Tournament News Releases


OHSAA Official Photographer Available
Impact Action Sports Photography is the official photographer of the OHSAA. A parent request form is available to fill in detailed information in helping photographers satisfy requests in covering specific athletes. Click here to fill out a parent request form.




Click above to see photos from the 2010 OHSAA State Baseball Tournament


Championship Game Recaps & Box Scores - posted after each game

Division I

Semifinal Game 1 Box   |   Semifinal Game 2 Box   |   Championship Game Box


Lakota East Wins First Baseball Title
Thunderhawks defeats Perrysburg 6-2 for Division I championship

COLUMBUS, Ohio—In its first trip to the state tournament, unranked Lakota East leaves as champion after defeating fifth-ranked Perrysburg 6-2 in the 2011 OHSAA Division I Baseball State Championship Saturday at Huntington Park.

For the Thunderhawks (23-7), senior pitcher Evan Hills kept Perrysburg hitters off balance the entire game, surrendering only two runs in a complete game effort. The two runs Hills did surrender came in the bottom of the seventh in an effort by Perrysburg to come back.

Lakota East began the second inning and its scoring with senior Mitch Geers lining a single up the middle and senior Craig Thomson hitting a double to left centerfield. After consecutive outs senior Zak Kloenne lined a single into right field collecting two RBI. The Thunderhawks added one run in the fourth when junior Blake Wilder singled in a run.

The top of the seventh included all-important insurance runs for Lakota East, which scored three more times on two hits and an error. In the bottom half of the inning Perrysburg threatened with a comeback beginning with senior Ryan Young hitting a single up the middle, followed by a walk and a pinch-hit double by freshman Mark Delas scoring a run. Yellowjacket senior Matt Garbig’s sacrifice fly two batters later plated Perrysburg’s second and final run.

The state championship is Lakota East’s first title in baseball. Perrysburg (26-4) finishes as runner-up for the first time in its second state tournament appearance.

Division II

Semifinal Game 1 Box   |   Semifinal Game 2 Box   |   Championship Game Box


DeSales Holds Off Hoban to Win Division II Baseball
Stallions claim first baseball title in over 30 years

COLUMBUS, Ohio—In a back and forth championship game, Columbus St. Francis DeSales held on to defeat Akron Archbishop Hoban 9-8 in the 2011 OHSAA Division II state baseball championship game Saturday at Huntington Park.

In the bottom of the sixth inning with a runner on, DeSales junior Zak Decamp sent a ball over the wall in left-center field to put the Stallions ahead two runs. The towering shot proved to be the difference maker in the game.

Scoring began early and often for both teams with four Hoban base runners crossing the plate in the top half of the first and three DeSales base runners crossing in the bottom half. The Stallions scored three more in the bottom of the second, one in the bottom of the third and the Decamp home run in the bottom of the sixth.

Hoban scored two more in the top of the third and one more in the top of the seventh, but was unable to push across the tying run as a result of solid defense from DeSales junior shortstop Brennan Schlabig.

With the championship game victory DeSales finishes the season 21-9 winning its first state baseball title since 1979.

Archbishop Hoban (18-9) finishes as state runner-up for the second time in school history. They had previously accomplished the feat in 1993.

Division III

Semifinal Game 1 Box   |   Semifinal Game 2 Box   |   Championship Game Box


Canton Central Catholic Takes Second State Crown
Crusaders take 5-0 lead, then score twice in sixth for win

Unranked Canton Central Catholic jumped out to a 5-0 lead, then scored two runs in the top of the sixth inning to break a 5-5 tie and win the OHSAA Division III state baseball championship over third-ranked Cincinnati Madeira Sunday at Huntington Park.

The game was originally scheduled for Saturday evening, but storms in Central Ohio caused a postponement until Sunday morning.

The championship is the second for Central Catholic (26-8), which also won it in 2008. Madeira (23-2) was aiming for its second title (1999).

Central Catholic used four hits, a walk and an error to jump out to a quick 3-0 lead in the top of the first. Three more hits and another error in the top of the third inning allowed the Crusaders to push their lead to 5-0. That lead was erased when Madeira scored twice in the third and three times in the fifth, but CCC got singles from three seniors – Tyler Triner, Joe Tann and Ryan Pack – in the top of the sixth to produce two runs and the win.

Tann (11-1) earned the win for Central Catholic with three innings of scoreless relief. Pack went 4-for-4 with three runs batted in.


Division IV


Semifinal Game 1 Box   |   Semifinal Game 2 Box   |   Championship Game Box

Minster Wins First State Baseball Title
Wildcats defeat New Middletown Springfield 6-0

COLUMBUS, Ohio—Minster scored early and late to secure a 6-0 victory over New Middletown Springfield in the 2011 OHSAA Division IV State Baseball Championship game Saturday at Huntington Park. The championship game victory marks the first time the Wildcats have won the title.

Minster (23-8) scored three runs in the top of the first off of Springfield starting pitcher senior Brad Ferraro, who walked five batters in the inning including the bases loaded to begin the game. The Wildcats did not score again until the top of the seventh when they collected three runs on four hits. Leading the way for Minster were seniors Ben Heitbrink and Craig Purpus, which both went 1-for-3 with two RBI.

Springfield (18-7) could not put anything together offensively to mount a charge during the game. Minster sophomore Adam Niemeyer pitched four scoreless innings while allowing only three hits and striking out three. Junior Austin Knapke matched his teammate’s effort on the mound, throwing the last three innings for the Wildcats to collect the win while only allowing two Tiger base runners.

Minster now holds its first state championship trophy in baseball alongside the runner-up trophy from the title game in 2003. Springfield has now finished as runner-up four times most recently in 2009, also in 1980 and 1930.

### OHSAA ###