OHSAALogo2007.JPG (12067 bytes)
The Ohio High School Athletic Association

2010 OHSAA Cross Country State Championships Recap

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us  

   To Cross Country


2010 OHSAA Cross Country State Championships
November 6,
Scioto Downs Race Track, Columbus



Live Results: http://www.deltatiming.com/results/xcmeet.aspx?yf=2010&mf=ohsaa-state-cross-country-championships

Note to Media: Results in AP format will be loaded throughout the day in the AP Marketplace.

2010 State Championships Recap
Five teams repeat, course record set and Wills becomes Ohio's fifth three-time champion

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Five of the six team state champions from a year ago repeated and a three-time individual state champion was crowned Saturday at the 2010 OHSAA Cross Country State Championships at Scioto Downs Race Track in Columbus.

A crowd in excess of 13,000 was on hand for the six races, which have been hosted by Scioto Downs every year since 1985.

Senior Zach Wills from Mason became the fifth boy in OHSAA history to win three individual state titles, winning the Division I race by 6.8 seconds in a time of 15:19.8.

The best overall time of the day – and the largest margin of victory – was turned in by Bay Village Bay senior Michael Brajdic, who set a boys course record with a time of 15:01.9. The previous boys’ course record was held by Bob Kennedy of Westerville North with a time of 15:03.2 in 1987. Brajdic, who also won the individual title in 2009, won his race by 20 seconds Saturday.

The only team champion that didn’t repeat from 2009 was Louisville in Division I boys, which won by just one point over Medina in the closest team competition of the day (125-126).

Independence repeated as boys Division III champion, placing three runners in the top 10 to top McDonald by nine points. Senior Colin Cotton of Cincinnati Summit Country Day was tops individually in a time of 15:32.5, winning by 5.6 seconds.

Peninsula Woodridge won its fifth-straight team title in the Division II boys’ competition, placing three runners in the top 10. It also marked the school’s fifth title overall to move into a tie for second-place all-time with six other schools.

In the Division III girls’ race, Minster notched its third-straight title, edging out Liberty Center by just two points. Minster has won eight of the last 12 Division III team titles and owns nine titles overall, which is most among all girls teams and tied with the Caldwell boys team for most among all schools. Versailles junior Tammy Berger repeated as individual champion with a time of 18:13.3, winning by 5.2 seconds.

Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary easily repeated as girls Division II champion, placing three runners in the top 10. The Irish totaled just 62 points to top runner-up Lexington (133 points). Senior Katie Landwehr from Tipp City Tippecanoe was the fastest runner with a time of 18:05.0, winning by 2.4 seconds.

The Division I girls race belonged once again to Rocky River Magnificat, which beat Mason by 47 points to win its third-straight and fourth overall title. Senior Michelle Thomas from Cincinnati Glen Este won the individual title in a time of 17:41.5, winning by 11.6 seconds.

### OHSAA ###