2014 Coaches Sportsmanship Award Recipient



Each year, all 24 of the Ohio High School Athletic Association sanctioned sports and the four allied professional organizations can recognize and honor one of their members with an OHSAA Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity (SEI) Award. The recipients are selected by the directors or executive committees of the respective coaches or allied organizations. Individuals selected should reflect the values of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity in all their professional responsibilities.



Rick Reedy

The Ohio High School Gymnastics Coaches Association has selected Rick Reedy, Beavercreek, as its 2014 SEI Award Recipient. He will be honored at this weekend's state tournament.

Rick first began coaching gymnastics locally for club gymnastics. Rick had the opportunity to coach in Wisconsin at Lake Owens where he interacted with some of the best coaches around and was able to learn different techniques and ideas, and have hands-on training to further enhance his coaching ability. After moving back to Ohio, Rick began working at a gym where the Beavercreek High School gymnastics team trained. When the high school was looking for a new head coach, Rick jumped on the opportunity and began coaching the high school team with only four girls. Year after year, the team grew

Rick says he was first hooked onto gymnastics when he needed to write a report about a sport in middle school, and his teacher introduced him to the gymnastics coach at the time, Mr. John Good. Rick was one of the smallest kids in the class and joined the boy's gymnastics team. Rick attributes his coach, John, as being an important mentor in his life with great qualities and fundamentals, teaching each individual to

be respectful and hardworking. Rick won three state championships under Coach John Good, and was a runner-up the other year.

Rick is extremely appreciative and honored to receive this award, stating "to be recognized by the OHSAA and my fellow Ohio gymnastics coaches is truly an honor. Thank you again for this prestigious award. It means everything to me to be recognized for my contribution to high school gymnastics in the state of Ohio." Rick would like to thank his wonderful wife and daughter for being so understanding on the many weekends and nights he is away at competitions. Rick also wants to thank all the coaches who give their heart to the sport of gymnastics.

Recipients of the SEI Coaches Award

1996: Linda Teeters, Thornville Sheridan 1997: Gail Maundrell, Cincinnati Turpin

1998: Linda Armstrong, Kettering Archbishop Alter

1999: Chet Snouffer, Delaware Hayes, Lewis Center Olentangy, Delaware Buckeye Valley, Sunbury Big Walnut

2000: Joan Ganim, Brecksville-Broadview Heights

2001: Joe Corrigan, Mentor

2002: Genie Thome, Berea, Middleburg Heights Midpark

2003: Cindy Fushimi, Worthington Kilbourne **2004:** Jerry Ballinger, Liberty Twp. Lakota East

2005: Paula Rafailedes, Canton Timken

2006: Jane Diller, Coldwater

2007: Colleen Eckel, Massillon Jackson, Uniontown Lake,

Akron Springfield, Canton Central Catholic 2008: Don Schutz, Chesterland West Geauga

2009: Steve Conner, Cincinnati Country Day

2010: Ron Ganim, Brecksville-Broadview Heights

2011: Julie Kayser, Dublin Coffman

2012: Joe Gura, Rocky River Magnificat

2013: Carol Peschel Eskay, Hilliard City Schools

2014: Rick Reedy, Beavercreek

2013-14 OHSSGGCA Scholar-Athletes



All of these athletes have met the established criteria of achieving seven semester status and a minimum G.P.A. of 3.7 on a 4.0 scale or its equivalent. The State Girls Gymnastics Coaches Association congratulates the following girls on their accomplishment:

C	ENTRAL
Hannah Mulligan	Col. St. Francis De
Brenna Nutini	Columbus Westlar
Emily Johnson	Delaware Buckeye
Allison Downie	Dublin Coffman
Julie Pochodylo	Dublin Coffman
Claire Edwards	Dublin Coffman
Monica Xu	Dublin Scioto
Heather Albrecht	Grove City Central
Trina Evanoff	Grove City Centra
Rosa Cabrera	Grove City Centra
Alexis McCoy	Grove City
Erin Joyce	Hilliard Bradley
Priya Mehra	Hilliard Darby
Dianna Petty	Hilliard Davidson
Anna Tantari	Lewis Center Oler
Kasia Placek	Lewis Center Oler
Makenna Basore	Lewis Center Oler
Danielle Chickerelle	Lewis Ctr. Olentang
Hannah Burns	Marysville
Selena Sorensen	Marysville
Lydia Edwards	Powell Olentangy
Alena Southwick	Powell Olentangy
Chandler Adamaitis	Thomas Worthing
Kimmy Luebbe	Washington CH W
Molly Garringer	Washington CH Mi

eSales e Valley al Crossing al Crossing al Crossing ntangy ntangy ntangy igy Orange Liberty Liberty rton Vashington Washington CH Miami Trace

Allison Rife Celeste Fushimi-Karns Katie Armstrong Jaclyn Turner Emily Juhola

Washington CH Miami Trace Worthington Kilbourne Worthington Kilbourne Worthington Kilbourne Worthington Kilbourne

NORTHEAST Brecksville-Broadview Hts.

North Royalton

North Royalton

Strongsville

Kendrah Neff Selena Haverlock Chardon Jordan Davis Kirtland Caro Ortiz Mayfield Cady Lucinno Mayfield Rachel Galaska Mentor Macedonia Nordonia Taylor Crockett Julia Koetter North Royalton

Hollie Dombrowski Hayley Kiosowski **NORTHWEST**

Julie Pishnery

Marisa Behringer Defiance Hayley Allen Maumee Tori Carney Maumee Kyra Wyandt Maumee Oregon Clay Jody DeMeo

Erin Gyurke Emilie Roman Sydney McGath Jasmine Serpen Alli Studtmann

Oregon Clay Oregon Clay Oregon Clay Sylvania Southview Toledo St. Ursula

SOUTHWEST Samantha Shook Ansonia Samantha Girvan Beavercreek Dakota Sicurella Bethel-Tate Diana Greis Centerville Rachel Robbins Centerville Bailey Squibb Centerville Kelsey Bardach Cincinnati Country Day Michelle Bushle Cincinnati Oak Hills Paige Chesney Cincinnati Oak Hills Audrey Laker Cincinnati Oak Hills Hadiya Harrigan Cincinnati Seven Hills Rebecca Swertfeger Cincinnati Turpin Maegan McCarthy Fairfield Paige Keller Greenville Shannon O'Sullivan Kettering Arch. Alter Greta Wolking Kettering Arch. Alter Julia Townsend Liberty Twp. Lakota East Audrey Harpen Mason Meg Conover

Trov

www.ohsaa.org -