OHSAALogo2007.JPG (12067 bytes)
The Ohio High School Athletic Association


2009 OHSAA Boys Tennis Championships Recap

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us

May 31, 2009

2009 OHSAA Boys Tennis Championships Recap

State Brackets: Division I Singles | Division I Doubles | Division II Singles | Division II Doubles

COLUMBUS, Ohio – All four state champion trophies went to first-time recipients Saturday as the Ohio High School Athletic Association boys tennis championships concluded at The Ohio State University’s Stickney Tennis Center.

In a rematch of last year’s Division I singles title match, New Albany senior Peter Kobelt outlasted West Chester Lakota West senior Wyatt Lippert 3-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-4 in a match that lasted two hours and 38 minutes. Lippert won their 2008 championship meeting, which also went three sets, and ends his career with four top-four finishes.

In Division I doubles, Worthington Kilbourne junior Kevin Metka and senior Johnny Price topped defending state champion Columbus Bishop Watterson brothers Philip, a senior, and Chris Diaz, a sophomore, 6-4, 6-4.

Cincinnati Country Day junior Joey Fritz, who finished third last year, beat Beachwood junior Mark Goldberg 6-1, 6-2 to win the Division II singles crown. Fritz surrendered only six points in his four tournament wins. Goldberg had to win a marathon semifinal match, topping Columbus Wellington School sophomore Ian Wagner 7-6 (7-5), 7-6 (8-6) before facing Fritz in the finals.

Sophomores Alex Aleman and Lou Konstan from Cuyahoga Falls Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy won the Division II doubles crown, topping junior Andrew Enslen and senior Joey Frank from Columbus Academy 6-3, 7-5.

### ohsaa.org ###  

Contact Tim Stried, contact: tstried@ohsaa.org  

Previous Page Questions, Comments, Suggestions?   Contact: webmaster@ohsaa.org Top of Page