OHSAALogo2007.JPG (12067 bytes)
The Ohio High School Athletic Association

2010 OHSAA Wrestling State Championships Recap

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us

March 6, 2010

73rd Annual OHSAA Wrestling State Championships
Wadsworth ends St. Edward streak in Division I, Graham wins tenth straight Division II title, Monroeville claims first championship in Division III

Division I Results
Division II Results
Division III Results

COLUMBUS, Ohio � The 19th four-time state champion was crowned and the longest state championship streak in any sport in Ohio came to an end as the 2010 OHSAA state wrestling championships wrapped up Saturday night at the Jerome Schottenstein Center in Columbus.

Monroeville senior Logan Stieber picked up his fourth state title when he pinned Casstown Miami East senior Zane Goldberg in the first period of the Div. III 125-pound bout. Stieber won titles at 103 pounds as a freshman, 119 pounds as a sophomore and 125 pounds as a junior.

After finishing second by one point a year ago, Monroeville claimed its first state wrestling title by winning the Div. III championship with 116 points. Five of the six Eagle state tournament qualifiers placed in the top eight, while four of them won state titles. Joining Stieber at the top of the podium were his younger brother, Hunter, Cam Tessari and Chris Phillips, all finishing their junior season with their third state title. Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy earned runner-up honors with 76 points.

The Division I race went back-and-forth all weekend between Wadsworth and Lakewood St. Edward, and the closest large school division race since 1977 ended with Wadsworth topping the Eagles 172 to 167.5. St. Edward had won the previous 13 state titles, the longest consecutive streak in any sport in Ohio.

Coach John Gramuglia, who was inducted into the Ohio High School Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame earlier in the day, led 12 Wadsworth wrestlers to the state tournament, eight of whom had podium finishes and four of whom claimed state titles. It was the second state wrestling championship for the Grizzlies and first since 1942.

St. Paris Graham Local ran away with the Division II race by scoring 223 points en route to its 12th state wrestling title overall and tenth in a row. The Falcons qualified 11 wrestlers to the state tournament and eight to state final bouts, six of whom were crowned state champions. Senior Max Thomusseit (189 pounds) and sophomore Felipe Martinez (140 pounds) helped Graham�s championship cause by winning their second state titles. Oak Harbor finished as the Division II runner-up with 78.5 points.

Three senior wrestlers finished their high school careers as three-time state champions including Jamie Clark of Lakewood St. Edward, Ty Mitch of Aurora and Harrison Hightower of Hunting Valley University School.

Mantua Crestwood senior Paige Nemec became the first girl to qualify for the state tournament and continued her historic run by winning a match in the Div. II consolation round.

Attendance for the final session Saturday night was 14,886, while 64,617 overall attended the three-day event.


  Questions, Comments, Suggestions?   Contact: [email protected]