The Ohio High School Athletic Association



2012 OHSAA State


Championships Coverage

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us    

2012 OHSAA State Wrestling
Championships Coverage

Wrestling Main Page
- State Participants, Brackets, Pairings & Tournament Schedule


Media Information


State Competition Schedule


State Tournament Preview - By Brian Brakeman


State Tournament Broadcast Coverage
The following media outlets will be providing live radio play-by-play, or delayed video broadcast of individual or all sessions of the OHSAA state wrestling tournament.

Archbold RTEC Communications

Defiance Community Televesion

Loudonville 95.7 FM WZLP
Matside with Bob Diele-TV

Milan 95.3 FM WLKR

Nelsonville Cable TV
Ohio Wrestling Network
Toledo BCSN-TV
Uhrichsville 1540 AM WBTC
Wauseon INTV
Waycross Community Media-TV
Western Reserve Cable 9-TV

Willoughby 1330 AM WELW

Follow the OHSAA on Twitter


OHSAA Official Photographer Available
Impact Action Sports Photography is the official photographer of the OHSAA. A parent request form is available to fill in detailed information in helping photographers satisfy requests in covering specific athletes. Click here to fill out a parent request form.




Click photos above to see gallery from the 2011 OHSAA State Wrestling Championships



Wrestling Championships Recap & Results

2012 OHSAA State Wrestling Championships
Jerome Schottenstein Center, The Ohio State University, Columbus
March 1-3

Click here for results

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The 75th annual OHSAA state wrestling tournament concluded Saturday evening at Ohio State University�s Jerome Schottenstein Center, where Lakewood St. Edward, St. Paris Graham Local and Apple Creek Waynedale claimed the Division I, II and III titles, respectively. Attendance for the 75th annual state wrestling tournament was 59,446, including 13,520 at the final session.

Despite four individual state title performances from Massillon Perry, Lakewood St. Edward outscored the Panthers 223.5-105.5 en route to its state-record 27th Division I state championship. It was the Eagles� 15th title in the last 16 years. St. Edward received title performances from three-time state champ Dean Heil in the 126-pound weight class, Mark Martin in the 170-pound weight class and Domenic Abounader in the 182-pound weight class. Perry, which also finished as runner-up in 2011, received title performances from David Bavery (106 lbs.), Mitch Newhouse (138 lbs.), Zack Dailey (152 lbs.) and JoJo Tayse (195 lbs.).

St. Paris Graham Local claimed the Division II state title for the 12th consecutive year by outscoring runner-up Lexington 183.5-97.5. The Falcons, which had eight state placers, received title performances from Ryan Taylor (120 lbs.), Micah Jordan (126 lbs.), Bo Jordan (152 lbs.) and Isaac Jordan (160 lbs.). Lexington�s title performances came from Jake Faust (145 lbs.) and Josh Lehner (195 lbs.). It was the Minutemen�s highest finish in the 75-year history of the state wrestling tournament.

Apple Creek Waynedale scored 104 points en route to its school�s first Division III wrestling state title. The Golden Bears� only title performance came from Zebulun Beam in the 160-pound weight class but they received podium performances from five other wrestlers including runner-up�s Brenden Stanley (152 lbs.) and Zane Nelson (138 lbs.). Prior to 2012, Waynedale�s highest team state finish was fifth in 2007. Troy Christian, which won titles in 2009, 2008 and 2007, brought home the runner-up title with 81.5 points behind two title performances from B.J. Toal (182 lbs.) and Jordan Marshall (145 lbs.).

Some notable accomplishments accompanied the 75th annual state wrestling tournament, including Lakewood St. Edward crowning its 100th state champion in Ty Walz in the 220-pound weight class and Archbold�s Jordan Cowell setting two OHSAA state records, including most career wins (237) and wins in a season (64). Cowell�s father, John Cowell, was Archbold�s first wrestling state champion in 1973.

The Division I wrestler of the meet was Moeller�s two-time state champion Joey Ward, the Division II wrestler of the meet was three-time state champion Bo Jordan (St. Paris Graham) and the Division III wrestler of the meet was Swanton�s Mimmo Lytle, a four-time state placer and two-time state champion.