The Ohio High School Athletic Association



2011 OHSAA State Wrestling Championship Coverage

Home | Administrator's Corner | Eligibility | Sports | News | Contact Us

Wrestling Home Page


2011 OHSAA State Wrestling

Championships Coverage


Check out SportsTimeOhio for tape-delayed broadcasts of the 2011 state championship bouts


Sectional Tournament Results   |   District Tournament Results


74th Annual OHSAA Wrestling State Championships
Jerome Schottenstein Center, The Ohio State University


The Brakeman Report: State Wrestling Tournament Preview


State Tournament Results Index Page

State Tournament Pairings
State Tournament Participants
State Tournament Brackets


2011 OHSAA State Wrestling Championships Recap
St. Edward, Graham Local, St. Peter Chanel take home titles; Monroeville trio crowned state champions for fourth time

COLUMBUS, Ohio � An unprecedented feat highlighted the 2011 Ohio High School Athletic Association State Wrestling Championships Saturday night at the Jerome Schottenstein Center in Columbus as three wrestlers from the same school became four-time state champions. Monroeville�s Hunter Stieber, Cam Tessari and Chris Phillips all finished their prep careers with four state titles, making the trio the state�s 20th, 21st and 22nd four-time state champions, respectively.

Attendance for the 74th annual state wrestling tournament was 61,856, including 14,121 at the final session.

After Wadsworth ended Lakewood St. Edward�s streak of 13 consecutive state wrestling championships in 2010, the Eagles returned to the top of the leaderboard in 2011, collecting 187 points en route to the Div. I state championship. The title gave St. Edward�s a state-record 26th state wrestling championship. The Eagles received state title performances from Dean Heil in the 119-pound weight class, Mark Martin at 152 pounds and 160-pounder Domenic Abounader. Nine of the 10 wrestlers St. Edward�s brought to the state tournament placed in the top eight. Massillon Perry was the runner-up with 109 points, while Wadsworth placed third with 96.

St. Paris Graham Local racked up 230.5 points in running away with the Div. II team title for the 11th consecutive year and 13th time overall. Six Falcon grapplers won state titles, including two-time state champions Ryan Taylor (112 pounds), Nick Brascetta (140 pounds), Bo Jordan (145 pounds) and Isaac Jordan (160 pounds). Matt Stephens also claimed a state title at 152 and Micah Jordan at 119 pounds to help Graham�s championship effort. Cuyahoga Falls Walsh Jesuit came in second with 108 points and Oak Harbor was third with 96.5.

The Div. III team race was the tightest of the three as Bedford St. Peter Chanel outscored Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy 99 to 92.5, giving the Firebirds their fifth state championship and first since 1988. Cody Walters, wrestling in the 160-pound weight class, was the sole St. Peter Chanel state champion. Six of St. Peter Chanel�s seven state-qualifying wrestlers recorded podium finishes. On the strength of the three four-time state champions, Monroeville placed third with 80 points.

A pair of wrestlers collected their third wrestling titles on Saturday, including senior Johnni DiJulius of Walsh Jesuit and Genoa Area�s Felipe Martinez.


### OHSAA ###


Statewide Audio/Video Coverage

Live Radio or Audio Webcast

Delayed Television or Video Webcast

1540 WBTC-AM (Tuscarawas Co.)

SportsTime Ohio

95.3 WLKR-FM (Erie Co.)

Defiance Community Television

990 WTIG-AM (ESPN Radio)

Matside with Bob Dieli: Columbus ACC 2

95.7 WZLP-FM (Ashland/Holmes Co.)

Nelsonville TV Cable

Artist First Radio Network ( Archbold RTEC Communications
Buckeye Wrestling ( Toledo BCSN Waycross Community Media
Ohio Wrestling Network ( Western Reserve Cable 9
GOhioCasts (