Home|Sports & Tournaments|Cross Country|Cross Country - 2019|2019 OHSAA Cross Country State Tournament Coverage

2019 OHSAA Cross Country State Tournament Coverage

2019 State Tournament


Parking & Travel Information

During previous Cross Country Championships there was major traffic congestion, so the OHSAA has worked with local officials to combat this problem. Please follow the instructions below in order to expedite the parking process:
  • If you are coming from the east, take Exit 126 off I-70, turn right onto Lancaster Road (State Route 37), then in one mile turn left onto National Road (State Route 40).
  • If you are coming from the west, take Exit 122 Outville Road (State Route 158), then in one mile turn right onto National Road (State Route 40). Note that school transportation vehicles coming from the west should proceed to exit 126 so that they park in Lot A for participants.
  • Some GPS systems instructed people coming from the west to proceed past National Trail and get off at Exit 126, Lancaster Road. This caused a huge backup. Please Exit at 122 if you are coming from the West except for school transportation vehicles (see previous note).
  • Recreational Vehicles will be directed to Gate B from Route 40 to park inside the National Trail facility. The parking fee is $25. This is in addition to the $10 per person ticket cost.
  • Parking Note: The parking lots are grass and can become muddy during inclement weather. Plan and dress accordingly!

State Tournament Recap

HEBRON, Ohio – Saturday, November 2, 2019 marked the 91st annual boys and 42nd annual girls state cross country championships. The 2019 meet was full of new course records and back-to-back champions at National Trail Raceway.
In the first race of the day, Springfield Catholic Central’s Addie Engel broke the Division III girls National Trail Raceway course record. The senior ran in a record time of 17:46.9, which trumped Coldwater’s Sarah Kamer’s time of 17:58.03 in 2012. However, Minster came away with its fourth-consecutive state championship title with 79 points, marking the school’s 13th overall championship, which puts them at the top for the record for most state cross country state championships overall. West Liberty-Salem was just behind Minster with 89 points, earning runner-up honors.
With its third-consecutive state championship, Lexington placed first in the OHSAA Division II girls cross country state championship. It is the school’s fourth overall championship with Halle Hamilton and Lily Weeks leading the way for Lexington. Hawken junior Ella Gibson won back-to-back state championships with a time of 17:45.9.
In the final girls race of the day, Beavercreek’s Taylor Ewert broke the Division I course record with a time of 17:22.4. The senior’s time earned her a back-to-back state championship at National Trail Raceway. Hilliard Davidson’s India Johnson held the previous record with a time of 17:28.6 in 2016. Led by Taylor Ewert and Savannah Roark Beavercreek also earned back-to-back Division I girls state cross country championship and third overall.
Cincinnati Summit Country Day ended Hudson’s two-year reign by becoming the 2019 Division III Boys Cross Country State Champion with 96 points. It marks Summit Country Day’s first boys title in school history, which was led by Evan Lakhia and Matthew Brumfield. Mount Gilead was not far behind with 112 points, earning a runner-up trophy. Grandview Height’s Derek Amicon came away with the individual first-place finish. After placing 22nd in 2018, the junior finished this year with a time of 15:42.5, two seconds before the previous runner up Demetri Snellenberger from East Canton.
For the second year in a row, Peninsula Woodridge came away with the Division II boys cross country state championship. It is the team’s second-consecutive championship and ninth overall. With their ninth championship, Woodridge ties the record for most boys cross country state titles in OHSAA history with Caldwell. Woodridge’s Micah Blair, Ryan Champa and Zayd Elkurd placed fifth through seventh, while Shelby’s Caleb Brown won his first championship after placing second in 2018 and third in 2017. The senior also broke the boys Division II course record in a time of 15:05.9. The previous record was held by Chagrin Fall’s Joseph Bistritz in a time of 15:16.09 in 2015.
Cincinnati St. Xavier secured its sixth overall Division I boys state cross country championship. The Bomber’s championships have come in 1998, 2000, 2003, 2012, 2013 and now in 2019. St. Xavier was led by junior Nathan Mountain and senior Thomas Walters. After placing seventh in 2018 senior, Matt Duvall of Pickerington North came in first in a time of 15:13.0.