Home|Sports & Tournaments|Cross Country|Cross Country 2021

Cross Country 2021

2021 OHSAA Cross Country

State Championships Recaps

2021 OHSAA Cross Country State Championships Recap
On a beautiful day but chilly day at Fortress Obetz and Memorial Park, the OHSAA 93rd Annual Boys and 44th Annual Girls Cross Country State Championships took place Saturday. It marked the OHSAA’s second year at the new home of the OHSAA’s cross country state championships, but the first time with full attendance. The 2020 state finals had limited attendance due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
With nice weather and a return to large crowds, a total of 12,342 fans were on hand, which marked the second-largest crowd in OHSAA cross country state championships history.
All six individual state champions ran faster than the 2021 state champs in the first year at Fortress Obetz.
In its 10th trip to the cross country state finals as a team, Perrysburg took home its first girls Division I state title. The Yellow Jackets totaled 101 points, while runner-up Loveland had 109 points. Leading Perrysburg were senior Aubrey Duhaine finished fifth overall and freshman Ava Beeks finished 13th. Gahanna-Lincoln senior Alyssa Shope won the race with a time of 17:32.1.
In the closest team competition of the day, Minerva took home its first state championship in the girls Division II race. It was their first state title in their 13th time qualifying as a team. Minerva had 136 points, while runner-up Granville had 139. Dayton Oakwood senior Grace Hartman became a back-to-back cross country state champ, winning the race in a time of 17:31.6. Minerva was led by junior Hera Hoffee, who finished 21st, and senior Jenna Cassidy, who finished 31st.
In the girls Division III race, Minster added to its all-time state record by winning its 14th state title, which is twice as many as any other school (Beaumont is next with seven titles). Minster totaled only 66 points, while runner-up Liberty Center had 108. Sophomore Margaret Hemmelgarn finished third and junior Taylor Roth was ninth to lead Minster. Cortland Maplewood sophomore Caleigh Richards defended her 2020 state title by winning the race in a time of 18:16.2.
In the boys Division I race, Mason took home its third championship in its 16th time qualifying as a team. The Comets also have three state runner-up trophies. They had 106 points, while runner-up Dublin Coffman had 144. Morrow Little Miami senior William Zegarski finished first overall in a time of 14:39.9. Seniors Alex Deroussel and Aiden Amshoff finished 19th and 20th overall to pace Mason.
In only its fourth time qualifying as a team, Alliance Marlington took home the boys Division II state title. Marlington accumulated 77 points to run away from runner-up Peninsula Woodridge (153 points), which had won the last three state titles and 10 of the last 15. Marlington was led by senior Noah Graham, who finished second, sophomore Colin Cernansky, who finished seventh, and senior Liam Blake, who finished 15th. Dayton Carroll junior Jack Agnew won the race in a time of 15:31.3, only 2.5 seconds ahead of Graham in the closest individual race of the boys state champs.
In the boys Division III race, defending state champ East Canton made its 23rd team appearance and earned its fourth state title. EC had 98 points, while state runner-up Mount Gilead has 108 points. Senior Gabe Shilling finished fourth and junior Brylon Holland finished ninth to lead East Canton, while Lima Perry senior Braden Yingst finished first overall in a time of 15:29.4.