Home|Sports & Tournaments|Wrestling|Wrestling - 2017-18|2018 OHSAA Individual Wrestling State Tournament Coverage

2018 OHSAA Individual Wrestling State Tournament Coverage

2018 OHSAA Individual Wrestling State Tournament

Schottenstein Center, The Ohio State University, Columbus
March 8-10, 2018


State Tournament Information

ATTENTION FANS: There will be additional security measures in place at the Schottenstein Center for the state tournament. Please allow yourself extra time when traveling to the arena.

OHSAA Foundation 50-50 Drawing

  • The winning ticket number is A-298782, and the pot was $18,765. The owner of the winning ticket number should contact the OHSAA main office.

State Tournament Schedule

Thursday, March 8
2:00pm - Doors open
3:00pm - Session #1 starts (Championship Preliminaries & Consolation Round 1)
Friday, March 9
9:00am - Doors open
10:00am - Session #2 starts (Quarterfinals & Consolations Round 2)
5:30pm - Doors open
6:30pm - Session #3 starts (Semifinals & Consolation Quarterfinals)
Saturday, March 10
9:00am - Doors open
10:00am - Session #4 starts (Consolations)
4:15pm - Doors open
5:30pm - Session #5 starts (All Finals)

Spectrum Sports Live Coverage Information

  • Session #5 (Finals) will be livestreamed on MySpectrumSports.com.
  • An edited version of the finals will air on TV on a date TBD.


Moore and Carr Become Ohio’s 30th and 31st Four-Time Champions; Lakewood St. Edward, St. Paris Graham and Genoa Area Win Team Titles
COLUMBUS, Ohio — Seniors Mitch Moore of St. Paris Graham and David Carr of Massillon Perry won their fourth-consecutive state titles, and Lakewood St. Edward, St. Paris Graham and Genoa Area took home individual wrestling team state championships at the 2018 OHSAA state wrestling individual tournament Saturday at the Jerome Schottenstein Center.
Moore became the 30th four-time state champion in OHSAA history after he defeated Ben Pasiuk of Carrollton 3-2 to win the Division II 145 pound class. Moore finished the season with a 43-5 record, leading St. Paris Graham to its 18th-straight Division II individual tournament team championship. The Falcons had four state champions, including senior Rocky Jordan, who became Ohio’s 70th three-time state champion, defeating Ashton Eyler of Uhrichsville Claymont 5-4 in the Division II 170 pound class. St. Paris Graham finished with a total of 231 points.
Mentor Lake Catholic senior Kevon Freeman was named Division II wrestler of the meet for his effort in winning the 160 pound class, when he became Ohio’s 69th three-time state champion.
In Division I, Carr defeated Jake Marsh of Marysville 8-2 to win the Division I 152 pound class, becoming the 31st four-time champion in OHSAA history. He finished the season undefeated with a record of 39-0 and was named Division I wrestler of the meet.
Lakewood St. Edward won its fourth-consecutive Division I individual tournament team state championship, extending its state record to 32 titles all-time. The Eagles finished with a total score of 170.5 and had eight placers, including two state champions.
In Division III, Genoa Area followed up its first state championship in school history at this year’s dual team tournament with its first individual tournament team state championship. Junior Dylan D’Emilio was its lone state champion, as he became Ohio’s 66th three-time champion, knocking off Jacob Edwards of Troy Christian 7-0 in the Division III 132 pound class. He finished the season at an undefeated 52-0. The Comets finished with a total score of 113.5.
Junior Cole Mattin of Delta was named Division III wrestler of the meet. Mattin won the 126 pound class after an upset victory over three-time state champion Tommy Hoskins of Xenia Legacy Christian in the semifinals.
Session five attendance was 12,271, and total attendance for the weekend was 53,401.