Home|Sports & Tournaments|Wrestling|Wrestling 2023-24|2024 Wrestling State Tournament Coverage

2024 Wrestling State Tournament Coverage

2024 Wrestling State Tournament Information

Quick Overview Schedule Below:
Friday, March 8
10:15 a.m. Weigh-in Begins
11:15 a.m. Weigh-in Ends
1:00 p.m. Wrestling Begins - Session 1 (Championship Preliminaries & Consolation Round 1)
9:30 p.m. Wrestling Ends
Saturday, March 9
9:30 a.m. Wrestling Begins - Session 2 (Quarterfinals & Consolations Round 2)
3:00 p.m. Wrestling Ends
5:30 p.m. Wrestling Begins - Session 3 (Semifinals & Consolation Quarterfinals)
9:30 p.m. Wrestling Ends
Sunday, March 10
9:30 a.m. Wrestling Begins - Session 4 (Consolations)
2:00 p.m. Wrestling Ends - Tear Down Chairs, Tables, Mats
4:50 p.m. Hall of Fame Induction for Coaches and Officials
5:00 p.m. Parade of Champions and Championship Matches Begin - Session 5 (All Finals)
8:00 p.m. Wrestling Ends

State Tournament Recaps

Boys State Tournament Recap

By Jarrod Ulrey 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – With five placers, Olentangy Orange followed its runner-up finish a year ago by capturing the championship in the second OHSAA-sanctioned girls tournament March 8-10 at Ohio State. 
The Pioneers finished with 95 points to win the title, with last year’s state champion, Harrison, scoring 83 points to earn the runner-up trophy. Vermilion was third (65.5), with Marysville (60) and Vincent Warren (41) rounding out the top five. 
Leading Orange were freshman Mackenzie Carder, who lost to Steubenville freshman Talea Guntrum in the final at 110 pounds, and senior Surraiya Mahmud, who lost to Warren senior Kylee Tait at 155.  
For Harrison, senior Chloe Dearwester closed her prep career by beating Vermilion’s Lauren Ficker for the title at 105. Dearwester, who finished 38-0 this winter, left with her fourth championship. 
Vermilion had one state champion in senior Brooke Jenkins, who defeated Fairborn senior Akiaya Rhinehart for the 235 title. 
Joining Dearwester as a four-time state champion was Toledo Whitmer senior Savannah Isaac, who captured her fourth title at 190 and beat Findlay junior Laney Oliver for the third consecutive year for the championship. Isaac closed the season at 35-0. 
Ending her prep career as a three-time state champion was Akron Manchester senior Jaydyn McKinney, who defeated Casstown Miami East junior Kira Cole for the title. 
Also picking up her third championship was Jackson junior Makennah Craft, who defeated Cincinnati Oak Hills senior Brianne Graves for the 100 title to close the season at 33-0. 
Tait, who finished 55-0 this winter, and Loveland sophomore Elizabeth Madison, who defeated North Bend Taylor senior Meghan Werbrich for the 170 championship, each won their second consecutive championships. 
East Liverpool senior Makyah Newlun, who came in as a two-time state placer, beat Eaton junior Carolien Klawon for the 145 title. 
Avon Lake junior Rejan Alhashash, who was a state runner-up a year ago, defeated Gahanna Lincoln freshman KyLee Tibbs for the 140 championship. 
Tipp City Tippecanoe senior Emma Hanrahan, who came in as a two-time state placer, defeated Napoleon junior Evanie Shank for the 130 title. 
Clayton Northmont sophomore Lacie Knick, a state runner-up last season, defeated Jamestown Greeneview freshman Lily Hendricks for the 125 title. 
Gibsonburg junior Morgan Leonhardt, a fourth-place finisher last winter, defeated Marysville freshman Cami Leng for the 115 championship. 
Doylestown Chippewa freshman Kayla Moroschan beat Brecksville-Broadview Heights sophomore Anna Madi for the 120 title.