Home|News & Media|Articles


Honorary Captains Announced for OHSAA Football State Championships

November 30, 2016
News Release – Ohio High School Athletic Association
Commissioner Daniel B. Ross, Ph.D.
Interim Commissioner Dave Gray
For Immediate Release – November 30, 2016
Contact – Tim Stried, Director of Communications, [email protected]
Honorary Captains Announced for OHSAA Football State Championships
State Championships kick off Thursday night in Ohio Stadium
COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Greater Columbus Sports Commission has announced the honorary captains for each of this weekend’s OHSAA football state championship games, which kick off Thursday night at Ohio Stadium. The honorary captains will be involved in various pregame activities, including the coin toss, and will be available for media interviews in the press box after their halftime interview on the OHSAA Radio Network.
“We are excited to bring these standout people back to Ohio Stadium for the football state championships,” said Brian Timm, director of corporate partnerships with the Greater Columbus Sports Commission. “This has become a fun tradition during the last three years that the football state championships in Columbus. The honorary captains are well-known from their playing days and afterwards and have added an additional element to the games. And two of our captains this year, Frank Stams and Jeff Backes, are former state champions, so this will be extra special for them, as well.”
State Championships Schedule and Honorary Captains (see bios below)
Home Team Listed First. Pairings are shown with overall records.
Thursday, Dec. 1
7:30 PM — Archie Griffin — Div. II: Massillon Perry (12-2) vs. Cincinnati La Salle (12-2)
Friday, Dec. 2
10:00 AM — Brian Hartline — Div. VI: Cuyahoga Heights (14-0) vs. Maria Stein Marion Local (13-1)
3:00 PM — Tom Cousineau — Div. IV: Columbus Bishop Hartley (12-2) vs. Steubenville (13-1)
8:00 PM — Jeff Backes — Div. I: Cincinnati St. Xavier (9-5) vs. Cleveland St. Ignatius (13-1)
Saturday, Dec. 3
10:00 AM — William White — Div. VII: Minster (10-4) vs. Warren John F. Kennedy (13-1)
3:00 PM — Frank Stams — Div. III: Trotwood-Madison (12-2) vs. Akron Arch. Hoban (13-1)
8:00 PM — Boom Herron — Div. V: Canton Central Catholic (10-3) vs. Coldwater (13-1)
Honorary Captains Bios
Game 1 - Thursday, December 1, 7:30 p.m.
Archie Griffin, Eastmoor High School
2 time Heisman Trophy winner at Ohio State … 7 years with the Cincinnati Bengals … Senior Advisor for Advancement, The Ohio State University
Game 2 – Friday, December 2, 10 a.m.
Brian Hartline, Canton GlenOak High School
Wide Receiver at Ohio State 2006-2008 … 7 seasons in NFL with Miami Dolphins and Cleveland Browns … Owns and operates two convenience stores with a partner in Columbus
Game 3 – Friday, December 2, 3 p.m.
Tom Cousineau, Lakewood St. Edward High School
2 time All-American at Ohio State, 1978 Big Ten MVP … Played with Montreal Alouettes of the Canadian Football League and Cleveland Browns … Will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday … VP Business Development at HMC HealthWorks
Game 4 – Friday, December 2, 8 p.m.
Jeff Backes, Upper Arlington High School
2000 OHSAA Division I State Champions … Cornerback at Northwestern 2002-2004 … Orthopedic Surgeon at Orthopedic One
Game 5 – Saturday, December 3, 10 a.m.
William White, Lima Senior High School
All-Big Ten Defensive Back at Ohio State … Started in Super Bowl XXXIII for Atlanta Falcons. Also played with Detroit Lions and Kansas City Chiefs … Vice President Midwest Region, Project Lead The Way, Inc.
Game 6 – Saturday, December 3, 3 p.m.
Frank Stams, St. Vincent-St. Mary High School
1981 and 1982 OHSAA Division III State Champions … All-American on Notre Dame's 1988 NCAA National Championship Team … Executive Director, The First Tee of Akron
Game 7 – Saturday, December 3, 8 p.m.
Boom Herron, Warren G. Harding High School
Rushed for 2,946 yards at Ohio State between 2008-2011 … While at OSU played in Fiesta, Rose, Sugar and Gator Bowls … NFL career includes stints with Bengals, Colts and Bills
Media Coverage
Time Warner Cable SportsChannel will televise the seven state championship games live, and live streaming for TWC subscribers will be available at www.TWCSportsChannel.com. In addition, the OHSAA Radio Network will broadcast all seven games. More information is posted at: http://www.ohsaa.org/news/radio.
Single-game tickets are available at the participating schools for $10, or at the Ohio Stadium ticket office before each game for $15 (club level, with indoor access) or $12 (reserved). Single-game and all-session tickets are also available online at http://go.osu.edu/OHSAAFBTix.
Two options for all-session ticket books are available for the football state championship games. All-session tickets in the club level, which are the chair-back seats on the west side of the stadium, are $105 each (includes all seven games) and also permit indoor access into the Huntington Club before, during and after each game. All-session reserved ticket books on the east side of the stadium, which don’t include indoor access, are $84 each (includes all seven games). Tickets can also be purchased at the Schottenstein Center box office or by calling 1-800-GOBUCKS.
Ohio Stadium Suites and RV Parking Available
Fans interested in watching the state championship games from a suite inside Ohio Stadium can contact Justin Doyle at [email protected] for pricing and availability. Overnight RV parking will be available for $25 per day in the South Riverbank lot. RV parking passes are available for sale day of game only. The lot opens at 7:00 a.m.
### OHSAA ###

Theme picker