Home|Sports & Tournaments|Tennis - Girls|Girls Tennis - 2019|2019 Girls Tennis State Tournament Coverage

2019 Girls Tennis State Tournament Coverage

2019 OHSAA Girls Tennis State Tournament
Lindner Family Tennis Center, Mason
October 18-19, 2019

State Tournament Schedule

  • Friday, October 18: First & second round matches
  • Saturday, October 19: Semifinals & state championships/consolation matches

State Tournament Brackets

NOTE: Brackets are updated frequently once play begins. You may need to refresh the bracket pages in your browser for the most up-to-date version to appear.
Division I
Division II

State Tournament Information

Tickets: $10 per person/per day. CASH ONLY - no cards accepted.
Children age 5 and under will not be charged admission.

State Tournament Recap

Division I
MASON, Ohio – The 44th annual OHSAA Girls Tennis Division I State Tournament concluded Saturday afternoon at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason.
In the Division I singles final, Springboro sophomore Abby Nugent defeated senior Ananya Aggarwal of Mason 6-4, 7-5. It is the first time in 24 years since Springboro had a girls tennis singles state champion and Nugent’s first-ever championship. 2019 was Aggarwal’s best finish in her high school career (2017 Division I singles fourth place; 2018 Division I singles third place).
The third place Division I singles match included North Canton Hoover senior Laurel Utterback and senior Cassie Alcala of Pickerington North. Alcala beat Utterback 1-6, 6-4, 6-4 taking home her second top-three finish in the last three years (2017 Division I singles runner-up).
The Division I doubles championship included two pairs of Dublin Jerome teammates with juniors Arya Dudipala and Lalasa Nagireddy going against seniors Reagan Resor and Katherine Wang. The duo of Dudipala and Nagireddy defeated Resor and Wang 6-4, 7-5 clinching Dublin Jerome’s fourth girls doubles state championship in school history. It was the second-consecutive year when the doubles champions and runners-up were from the same member school.
Mason juniors Annie Kruse and Raina Chada won the Division I doubles third place match for the second-consecutive year after battling Lewis Center Olentangy Orange seniors Erin Storrer and Kortney Reed 6-4, 6-3.
Division II
            MASON, Ohio – The 44th annual OHSAA Girls Tennis Division II State Tournament concluded Saturday afternoon at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason.
            Junior Sydni Ratliff of Gahanna Columbus Academy beat Gates Mills Gilmour Academy’s Carly Cohen 6-4, 6-2. Ratliff was the Division II singles runner-up the previous two years before securing her first championship in 2019. Ratliff’s win is the first girls tennis state singles championship in Columbus Academy’s history. 2019 was the second time Cohen was awarded the runner-up trophy in her career (2016 Division II doubles runner-up).
            Chesterland West Geauga sophomore Rylie Hanford placed third for the second-consecutive year after winning against Shaker Heights Hathaway Brown senior and two-time Division II singles champion Nicole Gillinov, who medically withdrew.
            Cincinnati Indian Hill won its eighth doubles state championship in school history when seniors Hayley Hirsch and Morgan Coburn defeated Shaker Heights Laurel’s Rachel Buchinsky and Ellie Brotherton 6-1, 6-4 in the Division II girls tennis doubles final. It’s Indian Hill’s first doubles championship since 2015. Hirsch previously took third place in Division II doubles in 2016 and 2017. Buchinksy was the 2017 Division II doubles runner-up as a sophomore.
            Dayton Oakwood juniors Sophie Russell and Natalie Connelly placed third after defeating Columbus Wellington School’s Alexis Burkhalter and Katie Zerbi 6-4, 6-7 (2), 6-4.